A place so homely

I want to remember some details of the 900sq.ft. apartment I lived in when I was in Trivandrum. It was our first home together, mine and husband’s. It had a small hall, 2 bedrooms, a big kitchen and balcony with a nice view of numerous coconut trees. It was on the 5th floor of the building and so away from all the dust. It had orange tiles on the floor which gave it an earth-y feeling, I loved that.

I always kept it neat and tidy because I love neat and tidy. We bought out first pet – the fishes, there. Oh, there are so many firsts there, I am not going to get into that.

I want to remember the way I used to stand at the door and watch my husband get into the lift when he went on work tours.

I want to remember my time alone there, munching on zillion pizzas and watching English soaps on the laptop.

I want to remember how I followed Splittsville and Masterchef Australia.

I want to remember my first experiments with cooking when I made Baingan ka bhartha, Mutter Paneer masala, Ragi roti and so many other things like 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

I want to remember my parents first visit to our home after marriage.

I want to remember how it was visited by friends and colleagues from office. They all loved it, which made me proud!

Finally I want to remember how the house looked on the last day with everything – even the memories packed in big boxes ready to be moved to Bangalore.

It was a sweet and cozy place I called home, with my touch everywhere. I don’t feel the same about our house in Bangalore because I have hardly been there. But I am looking forward to creating the perfect home when I am back in Bangalore and we move to our very first owned flat! :)

PS: You might want to check out a page I added – 30 before 30, which I created on my 25th birthday :)

Let me know how you liked my post! :)

