Coriander Pesto in Conchiglie

I was refraining from cooking pasta at home as the husband dislikes it (or so he thought until I made it). Once when I was in the supermarket I couldn’t hold my self back and picked up a packet of Conchiglie pasta. The first time I just made a simple mix veggie pasta and the husband was left licking his fingers. From then on, he has been pushing me more to make pasta! :P Look at the reversal of events!

Finally I found yesterday to be a perfect day to make pasta for dinner and skimmed through internet for something interesting and new. That’s when I landed here.

I had never prepared a pesto before and thought to try this. As I didn’t have basil, I replaced it with coriander. Of course, it tastes different but good too!

Pasta in Corainder Pesto 3

What I used

For Pesto

2 cups of fresh corainder

2 tbsp cheese spread(I used Amul’s cheesespread with chilli flakes)

1 tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup walnuts

1 tsp pepper

Salt to taste

For the pasta

2 cups of pasta

Coriander Pesto

2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped fine

One small broccoli, cut into florets

One tomato, chopped

3/4 cup green peas (prefer fresh)

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp pepper

Salt to taste

How I made it

Cook the pasta in boiling water and salt till al dente.

In your mixer, add all the ingredients for the pesto, give it a quick mix and grind it into a fine paste.

In a pan, heat the olive oil and fry the garlic. Add the green peas, tomato and broccoli with required amount of water. Cook for 5-7 minutes until the broccoli is tender.

Add the pesto along with pepper and salt and give it a good mix so that the pesto gets coated on to the veggies.

Swish in the pasta, mix well and switch off the flame. Add grated cheese and coriander for garnishing.

How the end product looked like

oozy and yummy pasta!
oozy and yummy pasta!

I served it hot but I am sure this would make a great cold pasta too. Try it out if you are a pasta eater and lemme know!

Let me know how you liked my post! :)

